Florida grandfathering provisions for home inspector
licensing ended on March 1, 2011. Home inspectors who currently want
to be licensed for Florida must obtain a home inspection license from the Florida Department of Business &
Professional Regulation. (FL BBPR)
Florida Statutes Chapter 468, Part XV requires:
(1) 120 hours of approved course instruction that includes 20 hours of hands-on training
(2) Pass the National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE) sponsored by the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors
(3) $300,000 commerical general liability insurance.
To apply for a Florida home inspection license, the applicant
must have a high school diploma or its equivalent, complete an electronic fingerprint background check, be of good moral character, and include a $330 license fee.
There are no experience requirements to apply for a Florida home inspection license and the license must be renewed
every two years.